Father’s Day Special Gratitude Post

As Father’s Day approaches, it’s also an opportunity to reflect on the topic- manhood and masculinity.


Listen here:


Everything contains the seed of its opposite. There’s yin and yang. These are the men (the Yang) who are my significant masculine figures in life this far- my beloved dad, my cheeky brothers, my sweet grandpa, my cosmic papa Antares, the generous Pravin, the soulful Heddy (and his heartful son), and the liberating Peter. They have been showing and supporting me in so many ways. I am so grateful to have you all.

Also highlighting my closest male friends, people whom I have a short yet life changing experiences, and my ex romantic partners. My greatest teachers in life!

All together, they showed me that there’s great harmony to be found in the contrast between things. Which can be found within me. I acknowledge and honour these aspects of me, by accepting this life’s contrast, I see the good and bad, in everything. Just like Luke Skywalker has the potential to follow his father to the dark side, and Darth Vader has a seed of goodness.

Adding on, I would like to acknowledge how each man has been doing what they know best to protect and give strength to their loved ones. Historically, asking for help, admitting vulnerability and fear have been a struggle for most men. Leading to two main emotions- anger and withdrawal. I see many don’t know how to express themselves, creating chaos from within to people around. This, I experience it from my birth family.

Here’s a blessed Father’s Day cheers to all. As we celebrate our masculine figures, may we pay attention to the inner masculine side within us too. Thank you for showing me all aspects of masculinity dear one, the healthy and the unhealthy ones, so I know what I welcome and do not welcome in life.

Father’s day for me is a reminder to all to be in balance of masculine and feminine, and I’m forever grateful to my fathers (be it birth, cosmic or representation) and brothers for teaching me what it feels like to be seen, secured, and soothed. ❤️

PS: Though I miss my dad’s physical presence, he is forever in and with me. Hug your dad more. Share him your love more. =)

I am blessed, so are you.

Love,

Vic Qi


Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started